False Valvoline Raceway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Dirty Rooster cleans out Australian Title Legend Car Henhouse

Glen Arnold was a jubilant winner of the 2017 C1speed.com Australian Speedway Legend Car Championship but although at times the driver of the #43 “Dirty Roosters” entry made it look easy he still had to work hard for the new #1 on the door.

Though he started on the front row of the grueling 30-lap Championship main event and was rarely headed Arnold came under serious fire from exciting rookie Kyle Angel and had to fight hard to regain the point position when the talented teen jetted past him on a restart.

“I was fast for most of the race but there was a point there where I was just spinning the wheels and when Kyle got past me I really had to lift my game. I thought the race was never going to end, we had so many restarts and I had to keep telling myself to stick to the plan.”

INEX #1 Rob Rawlings was a massive mover through the pack particularly late in the race when he made contact with the ailing Kyle Angel and dropped several positions before firing back to an incredible second place.

Sydney youngster Nathan Camilleri was a gallant third place after running in the top five for much of the main event ahead of a rapidly finishing Glenn Mitchell in fourth, Jacob Griffin fifth (after coming from the B-Main) Liam Heaton sixth, Glen Philpott seventh, Michael Hebditch eighth, Ian Jones ninth and Liam Camilleri rounding out the top ten.

Greg Thompson placed eleventh ahead of Bailey Goodwin in twelfth and Keanu Da Palma thirteenth as the last car running.

The race had a number of heartbreaking stories including fellow front row starter Dan Morris in the rusty #59 who retired prematurely with mechanical issues despite having been a top three contender for almost every lap he contested, one point leader Kyle Angel (engine and diff failure), teenage rookie Tyson Williams (who sped from 15th to third before spinning and suffering an engine failure simultaneously) Stuart Bond (wreck) Graham Keats (wreck) Chris Peterson (wreck) and Adam Parker (wreck) just to name a few.

Championship A-Main results:

1. Glen Arnold started 1st
2. Rob Rawlings started 5th
3. Nathan Camilleri started 3rd
4. Glenn Mitchell started 7th
5. Jacob Griffin started 18th
6. Liam Heaton started 4th
7. Glen Philpott started 8th
8. Michael Hebditch started 10th
9. Ian Jones started 16th
10. Liam Camilleri started 21st
11. Greg Thompson started 24th
12. Bailey Goodwin started 12th
13. Keanu Da Palma started 23rd

The Late Models had twin main events and there were contrasting results in both affairs for various front-runners.

Ben Nicastri won the first A-Main but then rolled over in spectacular fashion in the second whilst challenging for the back-to-back victory result.

“I was running the bottom for most of the race but I switched to the top real quickly and the chassis grabbed and rolled me over,” he admitted, “it was my fault. Driver error.”

A-Main one saw Nicastri’s experience pay dividends with a good win over Victorian youngster Cameron Pearson who recorded his career best result in Sydney for second place.

Late Model debutant Matt Smith scored an impressive third place finish on debut in girlfriend Jess Cassidy’s #20 to edge out lively rookie Brad Giffen for fourth, Carter Armstrong a confidence building fifth and Dean Hickey sixth in what was a bruising affair.

DNF’s included Shannon Jennings, David Doherty, Ryan Fenech (who was running second at the time) Darryl Grimson, Brett Watson, Brad Goman, Michael Hickey, Daniel Moon and Anthony Vysma.

A-Main Two was a win to Central Coast racer Ryan Fenech and in doing so recorded wins on consecutive weekends in the battle ravaged #29 and it was almost the dream result for him as best mate Matt Smith almost made it a 1-2 finish.

Darryl Grimson sizzled back to pinch second from Smith on the final corner after getting a pretty big ‘hip and shoulder’ from Fenech going into the first turn and basically starting from the rear as a result.

Smith was third ahead of Brad Giffen in fourth, Cameron Pearson fifth. Dean Hickey sixth, Carter Armstrong seventh, Michael Hickey eighth, Brad Goman ninth and Anthony Vysma rounding out the top ten.

DNF’s were Daniel Moon and Ben Nicastri.

Versatile Dungog (NSW) wheeler Brendan Wakeman refused to put a wheel wrong after starting the PBOZ Holden on the front row in the 20-lap Street Stocker main event and scored the victory despite the best efforts of Ray Tyler for the event’s entirety.

Tyler scored second place ahead of Andrew Espener in third, Paul Patterson fourth, Steve Walsh fifth, Anthony Attard sixth, Mitchell Farrelly seventh, Mat Alexander eighth, Shannon Alexander ninth, Kai Jones tenth, Ken Murray eleventh and Courtney Cotton twelfth.

The Junior Sedans made a popular return to Sydney competition after several seasons layoff and the kids aged between 10-17 made a positive impression on the fans in attendance with their enthusiasm, spirited driving and very capable public speaking.

Race One’s top ten was led home by Matthew Weir over Liam Murphy, Olivia Fuller, Ryley Smith, Bek Giffin, Josh Boyd, Ethan Brown, Harrison Granger. Sarah Bradley and Josh Weir rounding out the ten.

Josh Boyd dominated race Two over Matthew Weir, Ethan Brown, Sam Mooney, Harrison Granger, Josh Weir, Jackson Goldie, Liam Murphy, Jaiden Healey and Sarah Bradley rounding out the ten.

Josh Boyd won the final of the three race appearances to claim victory over Josh Weir, Ethan Brown, Liam Murphy, Matthew Weir, Harrison Granger, Ryley Smith, Bek Giffin, Sarah Bradley and Sam Mooney rounding out the ten.

The next event at Valvoline Raceway will be the Winternationals event on Saturday, January 10 with the Wingless Sprint 50-lapper, the Modified Sedan Winterslam and a Demolition Derby.

Ends release…

Upcoming Events